Skip to content

State planning

State planning instruments set out what the state government has identified as planning matters of key state and regional interest. These state planning instruments guide growth management across the state. Each local government must take these into consideration when preparing their local planning schemes.

There are two types of state planning instruments that the state government is responsible for:

The state government is also responsible for statutory instruments that ensure the plan-making and development assessment systems are consistent across Queensland.

These statutory instruments are:

Priority development areas

Priority development areas (PDAs) are parcels of land within Queensland set aside for specific accelerated development focused on economic, community and social growth.

Economic Development Queensland (EDQ)  is responsible for the planning of these areas.

State development areas

State development areas (SDAs) are clearly defined areas of land established by the Coordinator-General to promote economic development in Queensland.

Last updated: 25 May 2022