Skip to content

Development assessment process

All development applications go through a standard assessment process to make sure they are assessed equitably.

The Development Assessment Rules (or DA Rules) set out this development assessment process. These rules apply to all parties involved, including the applicant, assessment manager and any referral agency.

There are five key parts to the formal development assessment process:

  • application
  • referral
  • information request
  • public notification
  • decision.

Not all steps in the development assessment process will apply to all development applications. The process will vary depending on the type of development application. Pre-lodgement and appealing a decision sit outside the formal process within the DA Rules.

The development assessment system provides for an applicant to change an existing development approval or extend the timeframe of a development approval at any time prior to the development approval lapsing. View our fact sheet for more information.

Last updated: 25 May 2022